GIA Awards 2017


the GIA Design Awards  2017 

The annual GIA Awards are recognised at local and national level and are one of the main highlights of the annual GIA programme.

The Supreme Award winner, Awards winners and Commendations will be announced at the GIA Annual Members Dinner at Oran Mor on Friday 10th of November. DETAILS>>

All entries are featured on the GIA website - SEE BELOW

If you require any further information contact

Submissions by Category 

Select image to View Entries

Office/ Commercial/ Industrial/ Retail


Small Works (under £250,000)



Leisure/ Arts

All entries will be considered for additional awards

The GIA Supreme Award

The supreme Award can be awarded to any of the shortlisted buildings, the best body of work by an individual or a practice, or for an outstanding contribution to the GIA. This is only awarded when the quality and ambition of the work is truly exceptional and outstanding.

The GIA Sustainabilty & Conservation Awards

All entries will be judged against the criteria of sustainability and conservation and an award will be given to the project that, in the opinion of the judges, best meets this criteria.


Wood for Good Award

Wood for Good is the timber industry’s campaign to promote use of wood in design and construction and in collaboration with the GIA, this award could be given to any of the shortlisted projects that demonstrate excellence in the application of timber technology.

Rules & Judging


The awards are open to Chartered Architects, individuals or practices based in the GIA Chapter area and buildings within the UK & Ireland. They are also open to practices that are not members of the GIA but have completed buildings within the GIA Chapter area. 
Buildings should be complete at the time of entry submission – the building’s completion should be between June 2016 and August 2017. Clients must be notified of any entry to the awards.


Entries will be judged by category. Judges will be assessing entries against the criteria of ‘good architecture and buildings, whether new or adapted, which express good design in terms of function and effectiveness as well as aesthetics’.
Judging will take place over October and shortlisted buildings will be visited by the judges. Please give contact information for the judges to arrange access to the building. Entrants (architects) should not attend on judges visits.
The GIA reserve the right not to grant an award or commendation in any or all categories. The judges’ decisions will be final.

Chair Judge:

Keith Williams


We are delighted to have Keith Williams ( as our guest head judge this year to ensure that the judging team are kept in line and that the standards are maintained in the process of working through what we expect to be a high-quality spread of work from within our chapter. Keith is an award-winning Architect who has been an external examiner at Strathclyde University and is best known for his Athlone Civic Centre in Ireland.
KEITH WILLIAMS FRIBA MRIAI FRSA. He is the founder and design director of London based Keith Williams Architects, a Fellow of the Royal Institute of British Architects, a member of the Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland, and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts. 
He works internationally on major civic, arts, masterplan and development projects, and is recipient of more than 40 major design and construction awards for his projects.
His notable projects include The Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury; The Novium Museum, Chichester; The National Opera House, Ireland; The Unicorn Theatre, London; Athlone Civic Centre, Ireland and the Long House in London. He is currently working on a new museum in Alberta, Canada.
He is currently Chair of the Civic Trust Awards National Panel.
He has lectured extensively, has judged numerous architectural competitions and awards schemes and his work has been published worldwide, and in 2010 he was made Distinguished Honorary Professor of Architecture at Zhengzhou University, China. 


Our Sponsors




Speaker Sponsor