GIA Awards 2017


Entries to the GIA Design Awards are now being invited.

The annual GIA Awards are recognised at local and national level and are one of the main highlights of the annual GIA programme.

The Supreme Award winner, Awards winners and Commendations will be announced at the GIA Annual Members Dinner on Friday 10th November 2017.

All entries will be featured on the GIA website.

Entry FeeS

£60 per submission

Deadline 15th September 2017

A submission is an entry for a single building or project into 1 category. 

Multiple submissions are welcome. 

Purchase each submission below via our secure Eventbrite system

Award Categories

Office/ Commercial/ Industrial/ Retail


Small Works (under £250,000)



Leisure/ Arts


All entries will be considered for additional awards

The GIA Supreme Award

The supreme Award can be awarded to any of the shortlisted buildings, the best body of work by an individual or a practice, or for an outstanding contribution to the GIA. This is only awarded when the quality and ambition of the work is truly exceptional and outstanding.

The GIA Sustainabilty & Conservation Awards

All entries will be judged against the criteria of sustainability and conservation and an award will be given to the project that, in the opinion of the judges, best meets this criteria.


Wood for Good Award

Wood for Good is the timber industry’s campaign to promote use of wood in design and construction and in collaboration with the GIA, this award could be given to any of the shortlisted projects that demonstrate excellence in the application of timber technology.

Submit Your Entry

Purchase below via our secure Eventbright system.

For other payment methods please contact



Purchase an entry - £60.00 per submission

Multiple submissions welcome
Pay via our secure Eventbrite system

You will receive a confirmation email


Your confirmation email will contain a link to our secure entry form (paste the link into your browser).

You can access the form before you are ready to submit your data in order to see what fields need to be completed

Please ensure that you remember to complete this form so that your entry can be considered.


Awards Rules & Terms


The awards are open to Chartered Architects, individuals or practices based in the GIA Chapter area and buildings within the UK & Ireland. They are also open to practices that are not members of the GIA but have completed buildings within the GIA Chapter area. 
Buildings should be complete at the time of entry submission – the building’s completion should be between June 2018 and August 2019. Clients must be notified of any entry to the awards.

(N.B. the GIA reserve the right to amend the categories dependent on demand)

Images and Copyright

Entrants are required to submit a maximum of 6No. images of no more than 1mb each in jpg format + 1No. plan drawing (jpg format max 1mb) should also be submitted to aid the judges in building visits. 
In submitting an entry to the GIA Annual Design Awards, entrants permit the GIA to use all images and text in publications, websites, exhibitions and displays in connection with the GIA Annual Design Awards. Entrants should refrain from submitting material to which they do not own copyright if they do not have permission of the copyright holder. Please provide credits for photography.


Entries will be judged by category. Judges will be assessing entries against the criteria of ‘good architecture and buildings, whether new or adapted, which express good design in terms of function and effectiveness as well as aesthetics’.
Judging will take place over September/October and shortlisted buildings will be visited by the judges. Please give contact information for the judges to arrange access to the building. Entrants (architects) should not attend on judges visits.

The GIA reserve the right not to grant an award or commendation in any or all categories. The judges’ decisions will be final.


The winning and commended entries will be presented with their award at the GIA Annual Members Dinner, which will be held at Oran Mor, Glasgow. 200 seats will be available to book via our website from the 10th of September. Awards will be given in absentia for those unable to attend.

Our Sponsors